top of page

Fri, 22 Jul




F. Schubert Sonata for cello and piano in A major D821 "Arpeggione" D.P. Hefti "Memoirs" for violin and piano N. Vassena "Archeologia della perdita", Trio for violin, viola and cello R. Schumann Quintet for piano and strings in E flat major op.44

Registration has been closed
Discover the other events

Time & Location

22 Jul 2022, 21:30

Lucignano, Piazza S. Francesco, 52046 Lucignano AR, Italia


The opening concert on Friday evening will be held in the splendid setting of the Church of San Francesco and will have #Clara as the main theme. In classical music the reference is clearly to Robert Schumann's wife, Clara, already a famous concert artist, whom he advised her husband to go to Vienna in 1838. While he was discovering the Habsburg capital for the first time once, Robert visited the cemetery where two of the greatest geniuses of music rested, a few steps from each other: Beethoven and Schubert. In this regard he wrote "At last he had made a fervent desire for my life and I contemplated for a long time the two sacred tombs, almost envying that fellow ... who lies right in their midst ". Swiss composer contemporary, David Philip Hefti, long-time collaborator of Jürg Dähler for whom he has written several pieces, he found in the literary correspondence between Robert and Clara Schumann the inspiration for his first string quartet "Ph (r) asen", written in 2007. In this concert you will hear his composition "Miroirs" for violin and piano, composed in 2005. Born in Ticino, Nadir Vassena is the protagonist of the following piece "archeology of loss", a string trio with a poetic and strongly melancholic character. And thinking of fairy tales and Switzerland, Clara takes us back - perhaps with a naive smile - to Heidi's dear friend, from the 1880 novel by Johanna Spyri set in Switzerland and Germany. At the piano Francesca Sperandeo will lead the evening in duo with Enrico Bronzi on the cello, performing one of the most poetic pages ever written for this formation (the Sonata Arpeggione by Franz Schubert), interspersed with the contemporary duo of D.P. Hefti and the string trio of Nadir Vassena , to finish with Robert Schumann's legendary quartet for piano and string trio. Clara, almost represented in her femininity by our pianist Francesca, therefore binds the composers protagonists of the evening in different ways: Franz Schubert, David Philip Hefti, Nadir Vassena and Robert Schumann.


F. Schubert Sonata for cello and piano in A major D821 "Arpeggione"

DPHefti "Memoirs" for violin and piano

N. Vassena "Archeology of loss", Trio for violin, viola and cello

R. Schumann Quintet for piano and strings in E flat major op.44


Irene Abrigo & Francesco Sica, violin

Jürg Dähler, viola

Enrico Bronzi & Sebastian Braun, cello

Francesca Sperandeo, piano

Book your tickets

  • Full ticket

    Tax: IVA included
    Sale ended
  • Reduced ticket

    UniCOOP Firenze members (upon presentation of the card), children aged 6 to 12, over 75 years old

    Tax: IVA included
    Sale ended
  • Free ticket

    Children up to 6 years, disabled people & carers

    Sale ended



Share this event

bottom of page